the girls

I’ve just come home from a formal school occasion and I’m feeling pretty low; just penned this down in the midst of my embarrassment and anxiety.

the girls are brutally pretty
brutally acclaimed
brutally judgemental.

if their poisonous eyes could kill me
i would die,
and be buried in my shame.

i’m worthless
i’m ugly
i know
i know
don’t remind me i’m fat
don’t remind me i’m useless
don’t remind me at all

clenching my teeth, biting down
of long legs and black dresses
the girls stare at my short legs,
the wideness of my body,
the simple blue of my plain dress.

the girls could kill you
the girls are onto you
the girls will destroy you.

Leave a Reply

